Title: New Moon: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

Release: 16 Ottobre 2009

Duration: 57 Minuti e 40 Secondi

Tracks: 15

Label: Chop Shop Records- Atlantic Records

The record

New Moon‘s soundtrack comprises songs that are all original and exclusive to the soundtrack and are performed by various indie rock and alternative rock artists. New Moon director Chris Weitz stated that the soundtrack would feature songs from Radiohead, Muse, and Band of Skulls. Death Cab for Cutie contributed the soundtrack’s lead single, a song written specifically for the film called “Meet Me on the Equinox”, which debuted September 13 during the MTV Video Music Awards. Bassist Nick Harmer says, “We wrote ‘Meet Me On the Equinox’ to reflect the celestial themes and motifs that run throughout the Twilight series and we wanted to capture that desperate feeling of endings and beginnings that so strongly affect the main characters.” The music video for “Meet Me on the Equinox” premiered on October 7, 2009 and includes clips from the movie. The English rock band Muse contributed a remix of their song “I Belong to You”, which appears in its original form on their 2009 album The Resistance. St. Vincent collaborated with Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon to create a song called “Roslyn”. When describing the song, she said, “[Justin] sings in his beautiful falsetto and I’m actually singing very, very low… I think there’s something vampirey and creepy about the two of us singing together. It’s a simple, stripped-down kind of song.” The soundtrack originally had a release date of October 20, 2009, but the date was moved up four days to October 16 due to “overwhelming and unprecedented demand”.


Death Cab for CutieMeet Me On the Equinox - 3:44
Band of SkullsFriends – 3:09
Thom Yorke - Hearing Damage – 5:04
Lykke LiPossibility – 5:06
The Killers - A White Demon Love Song – 3:34
Anya MarinaSatellite Heart – 3:33
MuseI Belong To You (New Moon Remix) – 3:12
Bon Iver e St. VincentRoslyn – 4:49
Black Rebel Motorcycle ClubDone All Wrong – 2:49
Hurricane Bells - Monsters – 3:16
Sea Wolf - The Violet Hour – 3:32
Ok GoShooting The Moon – 3:18
Grizzly Bear – Slow Life – 4:21
EditorsNo Sound But The Wind – 3:48
Alexandre DesplatNew Moon (The Meadow) – 4:09

iTunes bonus tracks:

Solar Midnite (Lupe Fiasco);
All I Believe In (The Magic Numbers);
Die FledermausDuettino: Ach, ich darf nicht hin zu dir (APM Orchestra);
Meet Me on the Equinox video (Death Cab for Cutie);
Wandrers Nachtlied II, Op. 96, No. 3, D.768 (Ulf Bastlein)

International bonus tracks:

Thunderclap (Eskimo Joe) (Australia)
Frente al Mar (Ximena Sariñana) (Spagna)
Sed (No Way Out) (Spagna)
Cavalier Noir (BB Brunes) (Francia)
Es Tut Wieder Weh (Jennifer Rostock) (Germania)


Meet Me On the EquinoxDeath Cab for Cutie

Official New Moon Soundtrack Website


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.